Restaurant Review – Gradska Kavana, Split

OK – something a little different this time – instead of a recommendation, I’m adding this as a warning. Gradska Kavana, in the very centre of Split, is probably one of the worst places to eat in the whole city. I’ve been there a few times, unfortunately, but always as a result of having to meet someone who had already decided to eat there. The last visit, which I will stress is the very LAST visit I will make to the place, was bad enough that I feel compelled to write this. Having been called up by a friend, who asked me to join him there, I went along and ordered a lasagne for myself. My friend ordered a steak and fried potatoes.

My lasagne arrived in a clay dish, which I actually had to tip to the side to empty all the excess water out of. After trying a few mouthfuls (and crunching through the tasteless, only partly cooked pasta sheets) I decided to leave the rest. My friend had a few bites of his hardly cooked, very ill looking piece of meat, and ate just a few of the nasty frozen french fries and frozen veg that accompanied it. When the waiter came to collect the plates, he asked was everything ok. Now normally, even if I don’t like something, I’ll just make some excuse and say it was all fine so as not to insult the chef. But this time I felt I really needed to say something. I said “No, not really” – to which he just shrugged his shoulders and walked off! As an extra show of my displeasure, I actually waited for the 4kn change and took it with me. So, anyone thinking of stopping by there for a bite to eat, please do yourselves a favour and go elsewhere!

Leave a Reply

